The Bell Jar: Jo Bell's blog

"She lives the poetry she cannot write" – Wilde

Power corrupts…

….and absolute power corrupts absolutely, as we know. It seems that even a whiff of power from thirty miles away can compromise my principles. The new MP for Crewe and Nantwich, Edward Timpson, is a Tory as you may have noticed. According to my lights I should be rather unhappy that he won; which I am, politically speaking. On the other hand, he is the brother and brother-in-law of dear chums, whose pleasure and excitement are palpable. So I share in their excitement, personally speaking. Should I ever meet him at a dinner party, I promise that I will lobby for poetry to be plastered all over the streets of Crewe and Nantwich….

It’s been a planning week; planning workshops, planning events, and planning to go on holiday if it ever stops bloody raining. Huge gales here, and with the neighbouring boat away for the weekend I have nothing to shield me from the wind; the boat is rocking about like a mad thing. But when small friend Tilly (below) came to play, she brought sunshine with her and had a go at steering Tinker with her dad. If we can only get her to face the right way she will make a great skipper.

Windswept and interesting

On Thursday I put on a frock and some vertiginous shoes for the official launch of Living Derby, a wonderful community interest company which aims to get Derby people working together on creative projects. All went swimmingly and I felt very smug about my MCing skills. Alas, it was down to earth the next morning, when at a small library I read from my book to an audience of three – all of whom were apparently there only for the biscuits. Hey ho.

Right, I’m buggering off to Cornwall now with friends Hannah, Heather and their clans. Will report back….

Information

This entry was posted on May 25, 2008 by in Writing exercises.
