The Bell Jar: Jo Bell's blog

"She lives the poetry she cannot write" – Wilde

Drum roll, fanfare….

Green shoots of recovery...

Green shoots of financial awareness.....

This week, ladies and gentleman, I have FILED A TAX RETURN for the first time since 2005. I realise that for those of you with basic levels of numeracy this is no great achievement, but for me – and my dear friends who did all the work – it is a very big deal. I almost look forward (much more than they do) to finishing the outstanding ones. Yes, that’s a plural. Click here for a Wordle word-cloud based on my poem of thanks to them.

Or was he just pleased to see me?

Or was he just pleased to see me?

Unusually, this week I spent most nights in my own bed (that makes my life sound more exciting than it really is). There was oodles of work, and most of it pleasant: a brief for the National Trust to encourage art in its orchards, a Heroes-themed poem for Poetry on Loan, a presentation to Derby Hospital on our brilliant plan for art in their lobby, and (as we will every week now till May) rehearsing Fourpenny Circus. There were performances too – starting with a little reading at the open mike in Ronnie’s Bar, where musicians and poets live in harmony. You don’t see a didgeridoo in Macclesfield every day. Fellow trouper Joy Winkler read with John Siddique and others in Manchester, and I joined the lovely Time Travel Opportunists for a performance in Derby. Here in support were Hannah, Heather and both Patient Husbands all in one room together – and at last, dear readers, I can show you both Patient Husbands in all their glory! Here they are, revelling in the pleasures of a live poetry reading….

Another sonnet? Oh goody...

Another sonnet? Oh goody...

Planning a second workshop for Pickford House Museum is tricky. The first one used silk objects from the museum collection; the second one uses the ceramic collection, which is less glamorous with its teapots and spindle whorls (look it up, non-archaeologists). But this lot can handle it – we will make silk purses out of pot sherds.

tillys-card1

Tilly's latest artwork

Attentive readers will remember my request to friends not to have any more babies. I regret to say that three (or rather six) people have ignored this straightforward request. Jonnie and Victoria, who already have a perfectly satisfactory toddler in the magnificent Tilly, are manufacturing Tilly Mk II. Two couples I know in Gloucestershire are also adding to the population. People have no consideration…. However, the little blighters are welcome. Hal, our youngest board member, was a charming addition to our Living Derby meeting this week, even after he bit my nose.

Hal, our most articulate member

Hal, our most articulate member

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2009 by in Writing exercises.
