The Bell Jar: Jo Bell's blog

"She lives the poetry she cannot write" – Wilde

The dog’s bollocks. No, really.

It’s National Write a Poem Month, right? Not National Write an Intellectual Poem Month? Oh good. Yesterday, Gilbert White and his meticulous natural history observations. Today….

The dog’s bollocks

This end’s panting, unashamed
but round the back
as tight as rubber
bold as snooker balls
the two unsettling gonads.

Not hanging, not relaxed
but proud and jiggling, ready,
jostling to get there first.
This end’s grinning, saying
Do you want some? Do ya?

I can only apologise

I will be taking this mission to write a poem each day more seriously when I have a little more time. But just now, I’m very very busy – and poetry is here to make us smile too, dammit.

4 comments on “The dog’s bollocks. No, really.

  1. Angi
    April 2, 2011

    And make us smile it did indeed!

  2. Cathy Bryant
    April 2, 2011

    Well it tickled my fancy.

  3. Bohdan
    April 2, 2011

    And you have tagged this one with “Gilbert White”, too. Nice.

    • Jo Bell
      April 3, 2011

      I know – thought I might get a better class of surfer that way!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2011 by in Writing exercises and tagged , , , .
