The Bell Jar: Jo Bell's blog

"She lives the poetry she cannot write" – Wilde

Cherry picking

The subconscious, like the loft, is where you keep all the stuff that you don’t use daily but might need again one day. This one has been kicking around for a while, but like several others has been finished (has it?) in response to NaPoWriMo.

Attic
I wouldn’t care to look.
I’ve not accumulated things;
I’ve no dishonourable lampshades,
treadmills, no old-fashioned toys.

Besides, I know what’s in there.
On their bentwood chairs, my dead
are playing cribbage,
eating maraschino cherries

waiting for someone to bring them news.

2 comments on “Cherry picking

  1. Matt Merritt
    April 5, 2011

    Really enjoying these poems, Jo!

  2. wedding car hire in worksop
    October 10, 2012

    Beautiful… you need to release a eBook!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2011 by in Readings and writings and tagged , .
