The Bell Jar: Jo Bell's blog

"She lives the poetry she cannot write" – Wilde

Full steam ahead

Practising karate at Essex Poetry Festival

Ahoy there – and apologies if you were fond of my old website, with its eye- watering pink  background and a little whizzy thing at the top. I’ve changed to this cleaner, brighter look and will post new material, links and recordings in coming weeks.

In the tabs above you’ll see a new What’s On page with listings – and a ‘Jo Bell?’ page with a short biography. Coming soon – news of a short film, a spoken word show with storyteller Jo Blake, a festive trip to Sweden, and work with Cheshire Archives on a big new project.

My main job all year round is to direct the UK’s National Poetry Day which falls on October 6th. This year we have lovely postcards on our Games theme, and a selection of Games poems. Click on ‘NPD materials’ above to see lesson plans for teachers across the UK.

My recent poetry workshop in the Guardian was great fun – results here. If you want to follow me on Facebook please do – I post a great deal of information about poetry and events across the UK – or find me on Twitter @Jo_Bell.  If you feel a powerful urge to commission me, or you think you could use a poet but you’re not sure how, drop me a line on jo@jobell.org.uk.

I’ll be posting here every couple of weeks, with updates on what I’m doing as I travel around the country, poeting as hard as ever I can. For our next thrilling episode, tune in after the West Port Book Festival where I am reading and running a workshop in mid-October.

3 comments on “Full steam ahead

  1. angelatopping
    October 3, 2011

    Very nice, I will visit again …

  2. Jo Bell
    October 3, 2011

    I hope so! This post has been up for a little too long but I am leaving it because of all its National Poetry Day links. See you soon!

  3. Michael MacKian
    October 10, 2011

    I like it already!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2011 by in Writing exercises and tagged , , , , .
