A Writer’s Advent – Day 15

Jo Bell on making a good start

In my first ever writers’ group, a novelist friend arrived one afternoon, with the first three chapters of a work in progress. They were full of names, information, backstory and detail. They were, in fact, very boring. We said so as politely as we could. ‘But you need to know this stuff, in order to make sense of chapter four!’ she said. Another member pointed out, ‘We don’t need to read it at all. If it were a book I’d bought, I would have put it down by now.’ Today’s tip is about remembering to start well:

Today I saw a very good opening line in this Tweet: and writing this post has made me remember many others. What’s your favourite first line?

Find me on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram (where it’s mainly about knitting).

Published by Jo Bell

Poet, boater, archaeologist. Former director of the UK's National Poetry Day. One half of @OnThisDayShe. Erstwhile UK Canal Laureate, Cheshire Laureate. Host of The Poetic Licence on YouTube and Patreon (see links).